Taking a Screwtape look at my life

The Passage of Time

Procrastination is a horrible disease. The worst thing about wasting time is you miss doing the things you truly enjoy. There is no time for true happiness and your life is spent in a series of dead ends.

Have you ever watched an episode of  Super Nanny, or read old magazine at the hairdresser or listened to talk-back radio where they discuss whether the Easter bunny is a boy or girl?! These activities can give you that dead-end feeling. Your time goes and you realise it’s completely wasted!

With my baby growing and changing so quickly, I’m trying to catch time and hold it still.

Screwtape Letters

Screwtape Letters (Photo credit: ckpicker)

Often when I waste time I think of the warning C.S Lewis gave me in The Screwtape Letters.

He reminded us we can find ourselves doing neither “what I ought nor what I liked”

The whole of that wonderful book is etched in my mind. I have this brilliant audio of John Cleese reading out the devilish letters and I must have listened to it ten times.

For those who haven’t read it, these letters are advice from a senior devil (Screwtape) to his nephew on how to tempt a human. They are hilarious and full of great insights.

Perhaps we waste time because we don’t want to face up to the truth about our lives. We long for, and welcome, tedious, boring distractions, so our mind is too cluttered or simply too empty to really reflect on our lives.

Screwtape tells his nephew:

“you will find that anything or nothing is sufficient to attract his wandering attention. You no longer need a good book, which he really likes, to keep him from his prayers or his work or his sleep; a column of advertisements in yesterday’s paper will do. You can make him waste his time not only in conversation he enjoys with people whom he likes, but also in conversations with those he cares nothing about, on subjects that bore him. You can make him do nothing at all for long periods. You can keep him up late at night, not roistering, but staring at a dead fire in a cold room. All the healthy and outgoing activities which we want him to avoid can be inhibited and nothing given in return, so that at last he may say…’I now see that I spent most my life doing in doing neither what I ought nor what I liked.”

It’s worth repeating.

“I now see that I spent most my life in doing neither what I ought nor what I liked”

What a sad way to spend our lives.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adrian
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 05:36:18

    Did screwtape invent Facebook?

    Reply

  2. Clare Horsfall
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 10:21:25

    Quite possibly…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

