Google Mum

Want to be a good Mum? Just google it.

The internet has the answer to every question, all day and night. It invades our homes to tell us how to mother our own little baby. Good thing? I’m not sure.

IMG_0103

The most valuable lessons I’m learning about being a Mum, have not come from the internet. They have come from my own Mum and friends. Most importantly – I’m learning through looking at my own unique baby and making my own choices.

Google parenting means that there are plenty of “experts” telling us how to raise our children. The troubling thing about these experts is the way they seem to prey on the guilt and exhaustion of us new parents. They also like to take a fair whack of money from our pockets.  Just Google “help baby sleep” and see the fountain of ‘wisdom’ and products you can purchase.

It takes a bit of time before you can tell which experts have anything useful to say. I’ve found some pretty ludicrous advice on the internet. If I believed google I might think breastfeeding is always horrible and unceasingly painful. If I believed google I might think my baby is some sort of sneaky, manipulative tyrant who cries for attention like a spoilt beauty queen.

Those new to the parenting world, will be surprised to hear that google tells us “How to train your baby?”  Isn’t training for Olympians, dogs and horses? According to google I should have started training my baby as soon as she was born.

If I believed the internet I might have tried to get my baby into routines more extreme than any CEO might consider. Honestly, some of those routines were telling me what I should do every five minutes of the day.

All those baby experts are so bossy! They are constantly giving advice – how to space my children, what  time they should go to sleep, when I should stop breastfeeding, when I should introduce solids, what nappies I should use and so, so much more!

Another danger of internet parenting is the need to look perfect. There are so many mummy blogs with women looking glamorous and the baby dressed to kill. Now I’m all for Mums making an effort with their appearance. Yet sometimes when you look at the net you only see half the story. You forget these gorgeous Mums still have to change some very stinky nappies. And isn’t it good to have a happy baby, dressed in a basic onesie, who can crawl to their hearts content – rather than a baby, dressed so like a doll, they can hardly move.

By going to the internet  you can feel every Mum has a completely perfect life. It seems like every other baby slept through the night at two weeks – the mum just pops them in the cot and they drift blissfully off.  It’s just not true!

On a positive note, I believe the Internet  has brought about a new type of community for mothers. In addition to regular mothers groups, we can reach and connect with all types of Mums.  Many good friends of mine live half way across Sydney. With a new baby I could rarely see them face to face. Those few emails might have saved my sanity.

Books are no better by the way. I threw all my baby advice books out in the first couple of weeks. They made looking after Eloise way to stressful – I could never make her fit into the orderly, quiet  and trained baby being described.

Women have been caring for babies since they lived in caves – let’s regain our confidence and tell the experts to shove off .

2013-03-15-16-00-44 (1)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Liz McAuley
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:58:35

    Love the cave man reference!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

