We all need a Home

My most valuable work doesn’t earn me a cent.

We all need a home. And creating a home isn’t reserved for those who eat organic, photograph their dinner, bake from scratch or have left behind a job as a CEO.

Every Mum and Dad, in my opinion, needs to make a true home, for the sake of each other and their children.

A home means tradition, clean clothes, meals that bring you together and that feed your stomach and spirit. A home is a private shelter from the world. It’s a place to be calm, to cry, to laugh and to gather strength.

As a teacher I wish all my students came from a happy home.  Take the family dinner for example. With the TV off, a nutritious meal in front of you, kids can learn to share, communicate and feel cherished.

I want to teach children who have had a family meal.

In yesterdays article  in the Sun Herald, Alexandra Carlton asked why are “ smart women swapping boardrooms for bunting and bake-offs?”

One rather bitter quote came from feminist and author Anne Summers. She said that”If women want to quilt and craft and sort out their linen cupboards on a weekly basis that is their business. But don’t claim it is a superior way to live,” she says

I really don’t see why anyone should take offence at housework. Presumably even Ms Summers has to do it herself.

Honestly, I do think looking after your family has a special value, whether you  do paid work or not. When I show love to my family it’s better than any paid work I might have done.

C.S Lewis said ““Homemaking is surely in reality the most important work in the world. What do ships, railways, mines, cars and government exist for except that people may be fed, warmed and safe in their own homes? The homemaker’s job is one for which all other exist.”

Currently I’m working part time and I’m always going to be professional and passionate about my work as a teacher. However, although it may sound old fashioned, my heart is in my home.

At the end of my life I’m never going to regret putting my family first.

In Sydney, so many Mums have to work, at least part time. Not to wear designer clothes or to travel to Europe: Mums work to put food on the table.

It’s about time we value all the work done after hours.

Housework needs to be done and meals cooked. Why shouldn’t a man and woman bring all their creativity and intelligence into the home as well as the workplace? It doesn’t make sense to be an awesome lawyer but not know how to cook a meal or even make your own bed.

Sometimes I think the feminist of past generations have let their daughters down. I remember going away with a group of friends. One morning a girl tried to cook scrambled eggs  It took her nearly 45 minutes and it was still the consistency of thin porridge. It was a pretty sad breakfast  Why had no one taught her to scramble an egg? Is this a win for feminism? Or just a generation of poorly skilled people.

I want to improve on all those old fashioned domestic skills and pass them on to my children.

Hopefully they will feel confident in creating a home for those they love.

Leave a Reply

