To blog or not to blog…

writing

My poor blog has been neglected for far too long. I’ve blamed it on all sorts of things.

It could be my that my baby has morphed into a toddler.  Or perhaps it’s the onslaught of school work I need to get through at the moment. I’ve even blamed it on James Herriot. I’ve found that a comforting chapter of his novels sends me off very nicely to sleep every night. Not that they are boring. It’s just that they are warm, cosy, funny and there is no real overarching plot to keep me reading too long.

However, the most truthful answer is I’d reached blog overload. There are so many voices out there on the net. So much chatting, criticising, pondering, gossiping, boasting, sharing and commenting.

Some voices I love. You can stumble across some truly wise and witty writing.

Some make me despair of human intelligence. Some voices make me long for silence.

Despite my fleeting retreat, I’m going to launch my voice again into the great babble. I started this blog because every English teacher should – in theory – write. I want my students to write so I have to set an example.

I also started this blog to write about the things I love;  books, food, movies and family.

Am I a mummy blogger? I love being a mum but my interests, I hope, spread  beyond the realm of nappies.

I want to join the voices of mums who are forging a unique way into motherhood. Mums who are open to life, whether its convenient or not. I’m no “boutique” Mum. I’m joining the Mums who take on the joys and sufferings of having children with their  hearts ready to have their life turned upside down.

And for this reason I’m still going to blog.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz McAuley
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 12:54:02

    Hope Friday poetry will be back this week!

    Reply

  2. Robyn
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 20:47:46

    I love how you write, straight from your thoughts with no filtering. I hope to do the same one day by writing a children’s tale from my own experiences as a child.

    Reply

  3. Olivia
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 12:14:28

    It’s so lovely to find your blog, I look forward to reading snippets of your thoughts and life. Liv xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

