Supermarket Retail Therapy

Look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves.

This is usually good advice. However sometimes I like to splash out in a very small way. I remember reading in Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project that sometimes it’s good to have a modest splurge. It can give you a little kick of happiness for a long time.

Usually when I shop I try and be very stingy. I don’t buy fancy brands and I look out for specials.

My reward for all this thriftiness is spending about $1 more on a few special items.

IMG_0807

This week I couldn’t resist buying a few tins of chickpeas and tomatoes in their gorgeous Italian packaging. The tomato tin is so pretty you can use it as a vase afterwards.

IMG_0810

There is plain old honey and then there is Beechworth honey. I have a sentimental attachment to the place because my in-laws, who live in Albury, have often taken me there when we go down to visit. Beechworth has the best bakery you’ll find anywhere and a lolly shop worthy of Willy Wonka himself. It’s also famous for it’s honey. The queen of all honey has to be this Tasmanian Leatherwood. It’s sweet, it’s smoky and it’s perfect on hot, buttered toast.

I’ve always thought that if I lived in Middle Earth, I’d have to be a hobbit. There is no need to live like an elf or rule a great kingdom. But I do like the little luxuries to be absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

